Friday, January 29, 2010

IISc kickstart YSR with facile win

28th January, 2010, IISc Gymkhana Ground, Bangalore: The YS Ramaswamy Memorial Trophy, colloquially known as the YSR Cup in the Bangalore cricketing circles, is the most popular tournament in KSCA’s annual programme. It's one competition where KSCA teams from across all divisions (I to V) compete on a common platform and hence the format is a knockout one. This year a staggering 108 teams are participating.

In this year's edition, for once, IISc didn't face an imposing I Division team in the first round. Last year they faced fabled Social cricketeers who had, in their ranks, players of the caliber of Gaurav Dhiman and Ryan Ninan among others. Making the most of the opportunity, IISc kick-started their YSR campaign with a facile victory over Kapali Cricket Club (V Division).

Kapali CC batted first and their openers Manohar and Puneeth put together an attacking partnership evoking fears of a mammoth total. But once the alliance was broken, the rest of the batsmen collapsed like the proverbial pack of cards. Teja and Sandeep picked up three wickets a piece for IISc.

In reply, IISc cantered home riding on an assured and responsible knock of 74 unbeaten runs from the blade of Ashith who is fast developing into the most dependable No.3 batsman for IISc. On Sunday, 31st January, IISc shall play the winners of the match between Aristocrat CC and BMS College of Engg. Readers may note that, BMSCE had won the recently concluded IIMB Invitational Cricket Tournament after having lost to IISc in the league phase of the tourney.

Brief scores:
Kapali CC - 184 allout in 37.3 overs
(Manohar 60, Puneeth 43, Sandeep 3/11, Teja 3/46)
IISc - 185/5 in 30.1 overs
(Ashith 74*, Ganapathy 39, Vishal 3/49)

Result: IISc won by 5 wickets
Man-of-the-match: Ashith Shyam

Newspaper reports:
"The Hindu"

No comments:

Post a Comment